Seven wonders of the world: A brief background and details!

In 2000 a campaign started New 7 Wonders of the World to choose Wonders of the World from a selection of 200 existing monuments. The popularity poll was done through small amounts of telephone voting and free Web-based voting. This was organized by the New 7 Wonders Foundation based in Zurich, Switzerland, and led by Canadian-Swiss Bernard Weber. On 7 July 2007, winners were announced in Lisbon at Estádio da Luz.

The people could cast multiple votes, so the poll was called unscientific. New 7 Wonders Foundation drove the largest poll on record. There was a wide range of official reactions to this program. Some countries attempt to sell their finalist and tried to get more votes cast for it, while others criticized the contest. The UNESCO supported the New 7 Wonders Foundation at the beginning of the campaign and provided some advice on nominee selections but later distanced itself from the undertaking in 2001 and 2007 again.

Seven winners were chosen from the 21 candidates, seven winners were chosen, and these 21 candidates had been chosen from 77 choices by the pannel in 2006. In 2001, the New 7 Wonders Foundation was established. The foundation relied on the sale of broadcast rights and private donations. The foundation received no public funding. After the winners were announced, the foundation said they didn’t earn anything and barely recovered their investment.

Here the list of 7 wonders of the world –

7 Wonders

Great Wall of China – This is a series of fortifications built across Imperial China and the ancient Chinese states’ historical northern borders. These were built as a protection against many nomadic groups from the Eurasian Steppe. As early as the 7th century BC, many walls were built with selective stretches later joined together by Qin Shi Huang (220–206 BC). The multiple stretches of border walls were, later on, build and maintained by many successive dynasties. Ming Dynasty built the well-known section of the world. The wall’s other purpose was border control, the imposition of duties on goods transported through silk root, emigration and immigration control, and regulation or trade encouragement.

Petra –  In southern Jordan, this is a historical and archaeological city. It lies around Jebel al-Madhbah in a basin surrounded by mountains. From as early as 7000 BC, Petra’s area has been inhabited, and the Nabataeans might have settled and made it their capital as early as the 4th century BC.

Colosseum –  This an oval Amphitheatre in the center of Rome, Italy, and is the largest ancient Amphitheatre ever built. During the time of emperor Vespasian, the construction began and was completed in AD 80 under his successor and heir Titus. During the region of Domitian, further modifications were made. The three emperors that gave financial support were known as the Flavian Dynasty. And it was named the Flavian Amphitheatre. This is built of brick-faced concrete, travertine limestone, and tuff.

Chichen Itza – This was a sizeable Pre-Columbian city built by the Maya people of the Terminal Classic period. In the Tinúm Municipality, Yucatán State, Mexico. A multitude of architectural styles the site excites. It was one of the largest Maya cities and the most diverse population in the Maya world. The site’s ruins are federal property, and The Instituto Nacional de Antropología y Historia Mexico maintains the site’s stewardship.

Machu Picchu – is an Inca citadel located in southern Peru’s Eastern Cordillera on a 2,430-metre mountain range. The river Urubamba River flows past it, creating a canyon, cutting through the Cordillera and tropical mountain climate. Most archeologists believe that it was constructed as an estate for the Inca emperor Pachacuti (1438–1472). This built-in a classical Inca style.

Taj Mahal – This is an ivory-white marble Mausoleum and is located in the Indian city of Agra on the southern bank of the river Yamuna. The Mughal Emporer Shah Jahan commissioned it in 1632. to house the tomb of his wife, Mumtaz Mahal, and also houses the tomb of Shah Jahan himself. In a 17-hectare complex, the tomb is the centerpiece which includes a guest house, mosque, and garden are there on three sides.

Christ the Redeemer – This is an Art Deco statue of Jesus Christ in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, built by Brazilian engineer Heitor da Silva Costa and created by Polish-French sculptor Paul Landowski. The statue is 30 meters high; the arms stretch 28 meters, weighs 635 metric tons, and is constructed between 1922 and 1931. In the peak of the 700-meter Corcovado mountains in the Tijuca ForestNational Park in Rio de Janeiro, it is located.



Facebook Comments

Similar Posts