NASA logo ball

NASA’s Cape Canaveral Air Force Station pad, which has not been in mint condition since final space shuttle blasted off in July 2011, is going back to action, thanks to the America-based space organisation –SpaceX’s ambitious Falcon Heavy Launch Missions. The Elon Musk’s commercial space venture – Space Exploration Technologies Corporation or SpaceX is gearing up to help NASA’s historic launch-pad rush back into commercial space, by launching its most-awaited cargo ship tomorrow.

Today, on 19th February 2017, SpaceX will be launching its earth-shattering Dragon Cargo Ship from NASA’s Cape Canaveral-based launchpad ‘39A’, which was initially designed and used for the NASA’s pioneering Apollo missions in the 1960s and 1970s. As per official schedule, the cargo ship will lift off at 10:01 am EST (1501 GMT) on Saturday from Florida-based ‘Launch Complex 39A’, located at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center.

However, after the launch of the final shuttle mission by Atlantis on July 8, 2011, the launch pad remained dormant. But, after the proposal of SpaceX to conduct some Falcon big launches in 2017 sanctioned, NASA started modifying the arrangements and design of the launch pad in 2016.  Now, after a long six years, the launch pad is ready to make a remarkable backup with SpaceX’s Dragon cargo ship, which is scheduled to be conducted at 9:38 am EST (1438 GMT) on Sunday.

Launch Complex 39 (LC-39) and its three launch pads – 39A, 39B and 39C, were originally designed to host NASA’s ambitious lunar explorative mission, called Apollo program, and later it was modified for conducting the Space Shuttle program. However, being remained inactive for nearly five years, in 2016, NASA started revamping the launch pads to support some high-powered space mission of SpaceX – Falcon 9, Dragon 2 and Falcon Heavy.